Today was another basketball night and holy cow was it intense. We went into double overtime! The hardest part was one of our kids accidentally scored for the other team in their basket. So I more than anything wanted to win for that kid. I didn't want to lose by 2 and have him feel bad about himself. That is one of those mistakes that happens in the heat of the game, but you wouldn't want to be the one to live with it. We ended up winning!! Woohoo. Another kid fouled Allan and he scored on his second free throw! Hurray for him :-) I enjoy watching how these kids get better week by week. You can really see the work that they and the coaches put in each week at practice. It is an amazing thing. So far this season we have a winning record with 3 wins and 2 losses. The only 2 losses were to both of the undefeated teams. Of course now only 1 is undefeated because they played each other tonight. I am so glad for Allan that he is having this experience. He is loving it and I am enjoying watching. I will however say that I feel like I am going to have a heart attack sometimes during the games. I work so hard to be only positive for Allan and his team, but it is insane how I feel inside. I want him to do well and I want him to win, but I also want him to learn how to lose gracefully as well as winning gracefully.
Do other parents feel this way? Are sports parents always going crazy in the stands? Some of the parents could learn to be a little less vocal and more supportive. I feel for those kids going home with them. I also am going to say again how thankful I am for Coach Z! I have seen examples of the good, bad and ugly sides of coaching. Coach Z and his assistant completely fall on the good side. I apologize if I am repeating myself in my basketball posts, it is just all so new to me to be a sports parent.
Rest your head, and chat with you tomorrow
Andi
No comments:
Post a Comment